Each year at our annual meeting, ORTWS presents two awards to recognize professional achievement and two awards to recognize civic achievement.  These awards are:

Professional Recognition

  • David B. Marshall Award
  • Outstanding Service Award

Civic Recognition

  • Private Landowner Stewardship Award
  • Conservation Award

Presentation Awards

  • Dimick Award
  • Les Eberhart
  • Best Graduate Poster
  • Best Undergraduate Poster

Descriptions are below. To nominate someone for one of these awards, fill out the application and submit to the Awards Committee Chair. The letter should identify the nominee, the award title, your contact information, and why you feel the nominee should receive the award.

Send Nomination Letters to:

Awards Committee Chair
Andrea Karoglanian – email nominations to

Award Descriptions

David B. Marshall Award

This award recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions and accomplishments in wildlife research, management, education, law enforcement, or public service. Individuals are acknowledged for promoting the advancement of science, the principles of ecology, and the goals of The Wildlife Society by advocating sound wildlife stewardship. Nominee’s actions must have resulted in significant contributions in the conservation and increased long-term security of wildlife populations, wildlife habitats, and natural resource values within the State of Oregon. We face many challenges with limited resources and know there are many dedicated biologists out there who deserve special acknowledgment for the extra time and effort they contribute to the management of our wildlife resources. Help us recognize such an individual by writing a letter outlining this person’s achievements.

Outstanding Service Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions in wildlife management in the past year. Individuals may be recognized for contributions in research, management, conservation, public involvement, education, or law enforcement.

Private Landowner Stewardship Award

This civic award recognizes private landowners for implementing positive wildlife conservation programs or actions on their land in conjunction with their commercial operation.

Conservation Award

This civic award acknowledges individuals, city or county agencies, corporations, or conservation organizations for demonstrating ongoing, positive wildlife conservation or advocacy efforts.

Dimick Award

The Dimick Award is granted to the best paper given during the general session at the annual meeting. The name of this recipient is added to the Oregon Chapter TWS Dimick Award Plaque (kept at Nash Hall, Oregon State University).

Les Eberhardt Award

The Les Eberhardt Award is granted to the presenter of the best student paper given at the annual chapter meeting. The information presented must have been obtained and developed as a student. ORTWS will provide funds for the student to attend the next National TWS meeting if the same abstract is submitted and accepted by the National TWS. The recipient’s name is added to the TWS Oregon Chapter Les Eberhardt Award Plaque (Nash Hall, Oregon State University). Requirements are:
  • Individuals actively pursuing Bachelor’s or advanced degrees in wildlife biology or related field (e.g. wildlife management, ecology, natural resources, fisheries biology, entomology, forestry, soil science, etc.).
  • Individuals who recently (within approximately 1 year) received a Bachelor’s or advanced degree in wildlife biology or related field and who are presenting results of information obtained as a student.

Best Graduate and Best Undergraduate Poster

Poster presentations voted on by ORTWS Judges!